Travel: New Orleans

I went to New Orleans to find some musical inspiration for the Echocell album that I’m currently working on.   However, once I arrived I found myself not only inspired by the music but by everything around me!

Shop windows were full of gorgeous and unique items like this incredible orange and blue embellished mask with an orange feather on top…

swarovski crystal orange and blue mask with feathers bel kazan

The architecture of the French Quarter was so charming…

french quarter new orleans bel kazan
Even the decor in and outside The House of Blues was so different from the one we have in LA…

house of blues new orleans bel kazan

I saw plenty of beads passed out all over the streets, and as the history goes the beads get bigger and bigger every year…

huge mardi gras beads new orleans bel kazan

Voodoo stores also caught my eye; I’m fascinated with the idea of spells, love potions, alters, voodoo dolls, etc…

voodoo dolls new orleans bel kazan

And of course I met tons of musicians and heard great music; a lot of blue grass and jazz.  There were a ton of bands playing on the street.  I was surprised to discover that a lot of bands weren’t from New Orleans but had actually traveled from places like Wisconsin, California, North Carolina, etc just to be a part of the music scene…

blue grass jazz band on the street in new orleans

Check out this little clip that I filmed; how great is this band and how cute is the girl on the right?!…

Peace & Delight,
Bel Kazan

